Member loginNew member registration

The High Value Biorenewables Network is one of six Phase II BBSRC Networks in Industrial Biotechnology and Bioenergy (BBSRC) funded for five years from January 2019. Details of all six Phase II NIBB are available at:

High Value Biorenewables builds on the success of the High Value Chemicals from Plants Network, one of 13 Phase I BBSRC NIBB funded from January 2014 – December 2019. Outputs and resources from the HVCfP Network are available at


The Network is managed by an Executive Group working with support from a Management Board. Together, these will comprise the Network Leadership Team.

Executive Group - Network Director: Professor Ian Graham - Centre for Novel Agricultural Products, University of York

Network Co-Investigators: Professor Anne Osbourn - John Innes Centre and Dr Joe Ross - University of York & Director of the  Biorenewables Development Centre

Network Managers: Dr Caroline Calvert and Dr Wendy Lawley - University of York

Management Board members

Mark Berry Director, Food and Life Sciences Consulting Ltd
Tim Bowser Principal, Impact Science Consulting
Andrew Collis Synthetic Biochemistry Technical Lead, GSK Pharma Supply Chain
Paul Fraser Professor of Biochemistry, Royal Holloway University of London
Matthew Hodges Director of Commercial Operations, Oxford Biotrans
Gary Loake Group Leader, University of Edinburgh
Johnathan Napier Flagship Leader, Rothamsted Research
Steven Powell Executive Director, Leaf Systems International Ltd
Neil Parry R&D Director Biotechnology and Biosourcing, Unilever
Monique Simmonds Deputy Director of Science, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Rebecca Wood Open Innovation Coordinator, Croda

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are consenting to our use of cookies. For more information, see our cookies policy.